A few days ago, I posted about creating a capsule wardrobe. I had my doubts, but managed to convince myself it was a good thing. So, after a massive wardrobe clear out, I can happily tell you I have created my very own capsule. Sort of. It’s by no means minimalist, but every item in that wardrobe gets worn regularly, and goes with at least 80% of the other pieces of clothing in there.

So what I’m writing about today is a great little app called “Stylicious“. It’s available on both Android and iTunes, and is free. It’s definitely taken some time to catalogue my whole wardrobe. I tried to do this a few weeks ago and it was just too much of a task, but since I’ve trimmed down my wardrobe to almost half the size, I thought I’d try again. My plan is to log my outfits every day for a year, and at the end of the year, if I have not worn it, I will take it out of my wardrobe for good. I have decided to share with you the basic workings of this app and how I use it to keep track of all my clothes, so here goes:

Step 1: Cleanse

First off, pull everything out of your wardrobe. Slim down your wardrobe immediately by asking yourself this simple question:

“If I were shopping right now, would I buy this?” If the answer is no, then get rid of it right away.

Then, filter through the end result, and pick out any items that you find uncomfortable (either physically or mentally) to wear, or that you can’t create a full outfit with because it simply doesn’t go with anything else in your wardrobe. Get rid of those items too.

Lastly, think about the last time you wore the items that are left. If they haven’t been worn in a long time; ask yourself why. If it was due to circumstance (e.g. you haven’t worn a pair of shorts because it rained all summer) then keep it; but think about ways you could change that to wear the item more often (e.g. wear tights with the shorts when it’s raining). If it is because it’s a sentimental item, then store it away. If it has simply been forgotten about, then give it a new lease of life if you can, or get rid of it if you can’t.

Step 2: cataloging

First off, write down everything in your wardrobe that you want to include. As I said in my capsule wardrobe blog post, I would not be including “Job Specific” items or things like activewear, tights, shapewear, thermals and under-layers.

Then you will need to collect photographs of each item of clothing. Don’t panic! It’s not as bad as it sounds, I swear. The thing with clothes is that there are a lot of duplicates. Something you bought from New Look could appear indifferent to something from Gucci in a photograph. So I decided to simply google each item I had written down, and find images that looked similar to the pieces I already own – for example “Black Skinny Jeans” or “White Stripy T-Shirt”. Then, once I had found each and every item I could, I was left with the more unique items, such as my vintage items and souvenir pieces from abroad, as well as my hand-made or custom pieces. I photographed these on a hanger  and tweaked the images slightly to make sure it all looked visually pleasing. I then saved all the photos in a separate folder called “inventory”.

Step 3: Log each item.

Now it’s time to open the “Stylicious” app. The Home Screen is what you’ll see first:

2017-02-17-06-36-27

If you click on the “My Closet” icon at the top, you’ll get this screen (but obviously with your own clothes and not these ones – which are mine):

2017-02-17-06-36-34

Here you can see everything and sort it into categories using the drop down menus at the top. This means if you’re out shopping, you might be able to visualise outfits more easily as you have all your clothes literally at your fingertips.

To add an item, tap the little Polaroid icon (or you can tap the camera icon but I didn’t really need this as I had already catalogued my clothes in image form); and you’ll be able to choose the file where your images are and open the image you want. Then you’ll get this screen:

2017-02-24-21-25-31

I didn’t pigeon-hole the season or style, or add any notes. I just selected the “Kind” and the “Category” so I could sort the items in the main screen or lookbook. More of that shortly.

Step 4: Creating outfits and using the “Lookbook”

This is a really useful tool in the app. You can create outfits, either with your own clothes, or with something from a wishlist, which is perfect if you want to see if an item will work with what you have already. You can also use this to create outfits you have already worn, and log them on the calendar. More on that shortly.

To create outfits, simply tap the “+” sign at the bottom of the “Lookbook” Section, and scroll through your clothes, tapping each item you want to add to the outfit.

2017-02-24 22.04.46.png

When you’re done, click the “>” Symbol, and it will put the items on a blank screen for you to move around and resize using dragging and pinching on the screen. When you’re happy, save it to your lookbook to either log, or keep in mind for the future.

Step 5: Logging the outfits on the calendar

2017-02-17-06-36-48

So this is my favourite part. It will help me determine what I will be throwing out this time next year if I do not see it in this section. It’s really quick to add clothes to the calendar. You can either log one item, or a whole outfit, via the “+ My Closet” and “+ Lookbook” buttons at the bottom. When you open an outfit from the “Lookbook”, tap the calendar icon to select a date to add to the calendar. I think this is also a really great way to plan outfits, as it can remind you to wear certain items too.

Step 6: Shopping your closet.

So this is where the fun begins, if you’re like me and love putting together outfits. Say you’ve got a date night planned. You think “I must go shopping and buy a new outfit for the date.” Nope. Just scroll through what you have already using this app. Have a play around with items and put together some outfits in the lookbook. I swear it will feel almost as fun as shopping, but less messy than trying everything in your wardrobe on (and then leaving everything on the floor); and far less expensive!

I will be posting some more ideas on shopping my closet soon, with ideas on how to get more wear out of what I (and probably you) already own.

So what are you waiting for? Seriously? Download the app, it’s amazing!!

