Jurassic_Park_logo.jpg

 

Hello there!

Those that know me will know all too well how obsessed I am with the Jurassic Park / World franchise. I absolutely LOVE the films and cannot WAIT for the next installment in June next year. It’s really exciting that the cast and crew are in the UK filming and that some of the next film will be set here. Also, breaking news recently is that Jeff Goldblum is set to reprise his role as Ian Malcolm. Fans everywhere have been exploding about this, so I figured this post could not have come at a better time.

As I’ve been watching these films for most of my life – the first one came out when I was two. Obviously I didn’t watch it until I was older, I think I was probably nine or ten years old – they have clearly made a big impression on me and my life. And because they are so cleverly written (as are the books by Michael Crichton), there’s a lot of inspiring quotes in them. So without further ado, here’s my list of inspiring, thoughtful and sometimes funny quotes:

Jurassic Park:

“Life, uh, finds a way” – Dr. Ian Malcolm

Quite possibly the most famous quote in Jurassic Park history, these are words that have really taught me something. No matter what happens, the world keeps turning. Life goes on; and keeps evolving and adapting, and getting stronger. you can’t attempt to control something so untamable, so unpredictable, so wild as life.

“Your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, that they didn’t stop to think if they should.” – Dr. Ian Malcolm (again)

This is the classic ‘just because you can do something, doesn’t mean you should do it’. I always try to live my life by this principle, even if I do occasionally make the odd mistake.

“Dinosaurs eat man, women inherits the earth.” – Dr. Ellie Sattler

Such a surreal quote, and only a woman of the calibre of Ellie Sattler could get away with this. It’s not meant to be sexist, it’s meant to be funny. Although this quote hasn’t really taught me a huge amount in life, so many people love it, and it’s always a quote I come back to when attempting to make comedic quips.

“Are they heavy?” “Yeah” “Then they’re expensive.” – Donald Gennaro & Tim Murphy

I quite often judge the quality of items when I’m shopping based on this principle. Most of the time, unless something is designed to be lightweight, if it’s heavier, it’s worth more. Especially with jewellery, and um, night vision goggles…

The Lost World: Jurassic Park:

“There aren’t any versions of the truth” – Dr. Ian Malcolm (yet again. I know, I love this guy.)

Unlike a lie, if you tell the truth, there are no facets. There is only the truth. It is up to those you tell if they choose to believe it. But in the end, Ian told what he knew to be true about Jurassic Park, and some believed him, others didn’t. Eventually they all did though, when a T-Rex rampaged through San Diego.

“Violence and technology? Not good bedfellows” – Eddie Carr

All the way through my A-Levels, and into my adult life, I have followed this quote. Be patient with technology. Learn what is causing the problem and fix it, rather than just yelling at a screen and slamming your hands on buttons furiously. It’s gives me pride to call myself a nerd (or hacker, as Lex Murphy prefers to be called) and most of that has been because I have been patient with technology, and not violent.

“I love you, I just don’t need you right now.” – Sarah Harding (Because how many other Sarah’s were there on the island?)

A perfect way to say ‘I need some space.’ Sometimes we all need to get away from someone we love because they have become suffocating. And Sarah was doing just that when she told Ian to leave. The only problem was that Ian was right – as usual (“Boy do I hate being right all the time”) – about her staying on Isla Sorna – it wasn’t safe. The speech she gives to him though, shows how independent she was, and I love that.

“The school cut you from the team?” – Ian Malcolm (Again!)

This was right after Kelly, Ian’s daughter, kills a velociraptor; that was trying to eat them with her amazing gymnastic skills. Earlier on in the film we learn that she had been cut from her school gymnastics team. It’s an empowering part of the film that basically shows how badass you can be if you believe you can do something, even if others say you aren’t good enough. I mean, how badass was Kelly? Answer: Very.

Jurassic Park 3:

“Some of the worst things imaginable have been done with the best intentions.” – Dr. Alan Grant

In short, Billy did something stupid in an attempt to help. Alan Grant wasn’t best pleased. And he was right. It all goes back to Ian Malcolm’s point in the first film – just because you can, doesn’t mean you should – and again, this is something that has resonated throughout life.

“This is how you make dinosaurs?” “No, this is how you play God” – Amanda Kirby & Dr. Alan Grant

The third film really brought home the whole ‘playing God’ thing. Grant was not a Chaotician, like Malcolm. He was a traditional paleontologist who believed that real discoveries were made in real fossils, not in theme park monsters created in a lab. So when the group came across the laboratories on Sorna, Alan obviously had some feelings. And rightly so. It’s not up to humans to control nature. Again, as Malcolm so eloquently said – “Life, uh, finds a way.” For two characters who didn’t supposedly see eye to eye, they sure did share a lot of the same opinions…

“She was the one person I could always count on. I owe her a lot. Although I don’t think I ever told her that.” “You should” – Dr. Alan Grant & Eric Kirby

Alan was discussing how he felt about Ellie. The moral of this story is that you should always tell someone how much you love/care for/appreciate them when you have the chance, because you might not get another one. Eric realised this after being stuck on an island full of dinosaurs for eight weeks, and encourages Alan to tell her how he feels.

Jurassic World:

“The key to a happy life is to accept that you are never actually in control” – Simon Masrani

This is such a wonderful quote. I am not entirely sure if it was said by Irfan Khan’s Character originally as it does sound like something that was said before; but I’m crediting this exact quote to Masrani. Since hearing this quote, I have been attempting to live my life like this. Letting go of the things I can’t control, because – as shown in the movie – plans go to pot, life is unpredictable, and you can not control a very angry 50ft long hybrid dinosaur, no matter how many walls you build. Life, uh, finds a way…

“Struggle breeds greatness” – Vic Hoskins

In order to better ourselves, we must first struggle. Push boundaries. Fight. No pain, no gain. Take Claire Dearing’s character. In order to become the badass who eventually saved her nephews and her love interest from being eaten, she had to struggle through the wilderness, fight against all her normal inhibitions, and push her own boundaries in order to be “great”. This is my main workout quote, if I’m being totally honest.

“I don’t own the raptors, it’s a relationship. It’s based on mutual respect.” – Owen Grady

In order to have a successful relationship with anyone, or anything, you must learn to respect one another, and not attempt to control. It makes sense really. It also kind of goes back to Ian Malcolm’s “Life, uh, finds a way” quote again. You can’t control life, you just have to respect it in all it’s glory.

“Monster is a relative term. To a canary, a cat is a monster.” – Dr. Henry Wu

When Wu said this, there was an audible gasp from those around me at the cinema. Because it’s so true. and I never really thought of it that way before. He goes on to say “We’re just used to being the cat.” Which is also true and hammers home the franchise’s aesthetic about playing God and the consequences of doing so – a powerful lesson.

“Open paddock 9!” – Claire Dearing

It’s not so much the quote, but the realisation of what this woman is about to do, as she lights up a flare and that gate starts to lift. This is not the same Claire we saw at the start of the film – she has now transformed into a fully-fledged badass, with completely different values and opinions on everything from family to the animals, and her own life. She does something incredibly brave – if not a little stupid – and manages to save the lives of her nephews and her “colleague” (“We work together” – Claire on Owen, after he kisses her for what we assume is the first time). Moral of this one? It’s OK to be brave and stupid sometimes – if you can push yourself to your limits (outrunning a T-Rex in 4 inch heels, or otherwise) – you can do great things.

“Probably stick together, for survival.” – Owen Grady (I love this guy too… maybe a little too much.)

The last words we hear from the Jurassic Park films until the fifth installment is released next June. Owen says this to claire as they find each other again after the evacuation and she asks “So, what do we do now?” It sets the scene for the next film, right before we see Rexy standing on the Helipad and taking back the island. I honestly have no more words to say on this quote than “Squee!”

And there you have it. I’m done. I’ve had my nerd moment. Thank you for reading.

