2016-06-23-13-16-16e

After watching an episode of Fawlty Towers, I found myself craving a Waldorf Salad. If you haven’t seen that eponymous episode and don’t know what a Waldorf salad is, I shall explain. According to the episode, at least, it is a mix of celery, apples, grapes and walnuts in a mayonnaise dressing. According to Wikipedia, the salad was first created in the 1890’s at the Waldorf Hotel in New York City; hence the reason us Brits didn’t hear of it for a while, and still many don’t know what it is. Anyway, in the Wikipedia article, it explains that the salad is also served on a bed of lettuce. I came to the conclusion that this is quite a healthy salad if you skip out on the mayonnaise; but me being me, I had to test some other Waldorf themed recipes. I came up with this one. A Waldorf Salad smoothie. I recently made an investment and bought myself a Nutribullet Pro 900 Series. It sounds like an aircraft taking off, but sure as hell pulverises everything you put in there. So I bring you, the Waldorf Smoothie:

This recipe makes 2 smoothies, so you can share with a friend, or keep some for later.

Ingredients:

2x Large Handfuls of Spinach

2x Pink Lady Apples

4x sticks Celery

Approx. 30x Red Grapes

400ml Water or Coconut Water

1x Small Handful of Walnuts

Method:

Chuck all the ingredients in a blender and blast that sucker until its smooth. It can get a bit lumpy with the walnuts, so add some more water or coconut water if required and carry on until you get a consistency you like.

The end result is quite a bright green coloured thick smoothie with little red flecks from the grape skin. It tastes very refreshing and sweet, with a nutty after-taste.

I have no doubt now I have a nutribullet there will be more posts to follow containing smoothie recipes. Keep your eyes peeled!

Please do let me know if you try it, and drop me some feedback. I love to hear readers opinions!

