2017-05-14 14.41

I was recently scrolling through instagram, and found a post from superdrug that made me jump up to grab my purse. Normally, things like instagram posts are not enough to get me buying, but I’d been wanting to try a product like this in so long, so when I saw that my favourite budget beauty retailer had started stocking them, I leapt at the chance to try it.

This product is rainbow highlighter.

2017-05-14 14.41.41

Yes. Rainbow. Highlighter!

2017-05-14 15.24.18

It took off on Etsy a few months ago; although the original creators have now moved to their own site; and had a cult following from the start but I was never quick enough to grab one of these beauties, and as I am in the UK, getting hold of one was even more difficult, and pricey. *Sob*

I went straight to Superdrug, and they had sold out. But fortunately they had a “Back-In-Stock” notification option. It was back in a week later, so I jumped at the chance. At £4.99 from I Heart Makeup, “Unicorn’s Heart” Rainbow Highlighter is a steal compared to the $22 original (I’m all for a dupe).

When it arrived, the packaging was not the hard plastic I was expecting, but cardboard. I am still on the fence over whether or not I like this. On the one hand, it gives a vintage vibe and makes it feel quite special, however on the other hand, it’s not so durable if you want to put it in your handbag. It makes me feel like it should just sit pretty on my dressing table.

It was also bigger than I expected, covering the whole palm of my hand. This definitely backs up my non portable theory, but you do get more product.

Applying it was… interesting. I tried swatching first – it was so damn beautiful. I used my fingers first off, then tried a fan brush – the only one wide enough to scoop all the colours in one go.

This method didn’t really work though, as all the colours sort of blurred into one and it was just like a regular highlighter, but a bit more… blue.

So I tried to apply each individual colour with a small brush (originally an eyeshadow brush but who can tell once it’s on your face, right?) Bingo! This worked like a charm, and I had the desired rainbow effect. The photos of it on my face do not do the colours justice. I had a hard time getting the lighting right to show all the colours as it’s a “Catch the light” Kind of product. I used one coat, and it gave a nice subtle finish, but shortly after I bought it, I headed to the Fairy Festival in Cornwall, so it got used to the max!

As usual, let me know if you try this and what your thoughts are.

